Sunday, 18 August 2013

Indian Cricket Team

By on 12:14

Indian cricket team, often called as 'Men in blue' are currently ranking 1st in ODI, 3rd in Test and T20. Cricket was introduced to Indians by European merchant sailors in 18th century.  India played their first cricket test against England at Lords, London 25th June 1932.In the first fifty years of the cricket history, India proved they were very much weaker than England and Australia by winning only 35 out of 196 test matches.

However, the team gained strength with the emerge of players like Sunil Gavaskar, Kapil Dev and Indian spin legend Erapalli Prasanna and Srinivas Venkataraghavan, Bhagat Chandrashekar(leg spinner) and Bishan Singh Bedi. Indian team has improved a lot in both home and overseas since the start of 21st century. It won the world cup in 1983 under Kapil Dev, and was runner up in 2003 under Sourav Ganguly. It won the second world cup title under Mahender Singh Dhoni in 2011.And first team to win world cup title in home. The current team includes Sachin Tendulkar, Virender Sehwag and others who held several records.

The board of control for Cricket In India (BCCI) is the governing body for the team India and it is one of the wealthiest sporting organization in the world.It manages future tours, sponsorship and team selection. 

Indian national cricket squad as per August 2013.


Captain and wicket keeper.

  • Mahender Singh Dhoni, 32

Vice captain.

  • Virat Kohli, 24

Opening batsman

  • Shikhar Dhawan, 27
  • Gautam Gambhir, 31
  • Ajinkya Rahane, 25
  • Virender Sehwag, 34
  • Murali Vijay, 29
Middle Order Batsman
  • Cheteshwar Pujara, 25
  • Suresh Raina, 26
  • Ambati Rayudu, 27
  • Rohit Sharma, 26
  • Sachin Tendulkar, 40
  • Manoj Tiwary, 27
All Rounders
  • Ravindra Jadeja, 24
  • Irfan Pathan, 28
  • Yuvraj Singh, 31
Wicket Keepers.
  • Dinesh Karthik, 28
Pace Bowlers
  • Shami Ahmed,23
  • Parvinder Awana, 27
  • Lakshmipathy Balaji, 31
  • Ashok Dinda, 39
  • Zaheer Khan, 34
  • Bhuvneshwar Kumar, 22
  • Vinay Kumar, 29
  • Ishant Sharma, 24
  • Mohit Sharma, 24
  • Jaydev Unadkat, 21
  • Umesh Yadav, 25
Spin Bowlers.
  • Ravichandran Ashwin, 26
  • Piyush Chawla, 24
  • Amit Mishra, 30
  • Pragyan Ojha, 26
  • Harbhajan Singh, 33

About Predictionspot

Predictionspot is a all about cricket predictions. Every match is predicted by the experts and cricket enthusiasts and displayed in the website for FREE!