Sunday, 18 August 2013

West Indies Cricket team

By on 13:10

West Indian cricket team also called as West Indies or Windies is one of the strongest teams in world cricket. It is very well known for its hard hitting strokes and innovating style of batting.In the mid 1970's and 90's West Indies was one of the strongest team in both ODI and test cricket. Sir Garfield Sobers, Lance Gibbs, Gordon Greenidge, George Headley, Brian Lara, Clive Lloyd, Malcolm Marshall, Andy Roberts, Alvin Kallicharran, Rohan Kanhai, Sir Frank Worrell, Clyde Walcott, Everton Weekes, Curtly Ambrose, Michael Holding, Courtney Walsh, Joel Garner and Sir Viv Richards have all been inducted into the ICC Hall of Fame.

West Indies played their first Test cricket in 1928 against England at Lord's, London. They have won world cup titles in 1975 and 1979.And were the first team to win world cup twice. Currently West Indies is ranked 7th in Test and ODI cricket. And first in T20 format.

West Indian International Cricket team squad as per August 2013.

Test and T20 captain.
  •  Darren Sammy, 29
ODI captain
  • Dwayne Bravo, 29
Opening Batsman
  • Johnson Charles, 24
  • Chris Gayle, 33
  • Kieran Powell, 23
  • Lendl Simmons, 28
  • Devon Smith, 31
Middle order Batsman
  •  Darren Bravo, 24
  •  Shivnarine Chanderpaul, 38
  • Narsingh Deonarine, 29
  • Kirk Edwards, 28
  •  Assad Fudadin, 28
  • Marlon Samuels, 32
  • Ramnaresh Sarwan, 33
Wicket Keepers
  • Denesh Ramdin, 28
  •  Devon Thomas, 23
All Rounders
  • Nkruma Bonner, 24
  • Kieron Pollard, 26
  • Andre Russell, 25
  • Dwayne Smith, 30
Pace Bowlers
  • Tino Best, 31
  • Fidel Edwards, 31
  • Shannon Gabriel, 25
  • Jason Holder, 21
  •  Ravi Rampaul, 28
  • Kemar Roach, 25
Spin Bowlers
  • Samuel Badree, 32
  • Sunil Narine, 25
  • Veerasammy Permaul, 24
  • Shane Shillingford, 30            

About Predictionspot

Predictionspot is a all about cricket predictions. Every match is predicted by the experts and cricket enthusiasts and displayed in the website for FREE!